Campus Q & A

I had the chance to go around campus and get some insight from complete strangers on a couple of questions at-hand.

The three questions were:

  1. Do you think it’s OK to visibly protest the National Anthem? Not just athletes, but anyone.
  2. Are you registered to vote? Why or why not?
  3. Who was Brad Pitt married to before he was married to Angelina Jolie?

I’ll admit that this was a bit awkward at first, but everyone I talked to seemed to enjoy being interviewed, especially when the third question came around.

First interviewee: Nicholas Petito, Rowan student

  1. “I believe it’s okay if it’s for a legitimate reason. He [Colin Kaepernick] has a reason for his actions. He’s protesting the violence against black people that is going unnoticed.”
  2. “Yes, I am registered to vote. Voting is obviously important, but it is also important to get our generation into it. Every vote matters.”
  3. “Jennifer Aniston! I need to go watch Friends now.”

Second interviewee: Sarah Raices, Rowan student

  1. “I’m totally down for that. I’m against any sort of prejudice or any unfair treatment of any person. Since it’s not a violent protest, there shouldn’t be anything wrong with it.”
  2. “Yes! Votes do matter. A lot of people think that they can’t make a difference but if you have a lot of people that think that, then nothing will get done.”
  3. “Jennifer Aniston, right?”

Third interviewee: Kylie Bakley, Rowan student

1. “No, I don’t think it’s okay to protest during the national anthem. It’s disrespectful for those who have fought for that flag to be risen everyday.”

2. “I’m not registered to vote. I’ve never got around to it, and this election is a lose-lose anyway.”

3. “Aniston I think. I don’t pay too much attention to that. I didn’t even know they broke up.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

